PHONE: 919-828-6206


NC Association of Local Health Directors Honors Health Director of the Year and Partner Organization for Contributions to Improving Public Health

On Thursday, January 19, 2023, the North Carolina Association of Local Health Directors honored Wanda Robinson of Sampson County as Health Director of the Year and Vecinos, Inc. with the 2023 Public Health Partners Award.

The awards were given at the NCALHD annual meeting awards luncheon in Raleigh.

The 2023 North Carolina Health Director of the Year Award was presented to Wanda Robinson of Sampson County.   This award was created by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and is implemented through the North Carolina Association of Local Health Directors, an affiliate of the NCACC and is given to an individual for outstanding leadership in both public health in North Carolina and for leadership and involvement in local community and civic activities.

Wanda Robinson has worked for Sampson County for over 40 years.  Her public health achievements, accomplishments, and contributions include:

  • 1980 – Public Health Nurse
  • 1992 – Director of Nursing
  • 2006 – Local Health Director
  • 2010 – State & County’s adoption of the Smoking Ordinance
  • 2014 -County’s adoption of the Dangerous Dog Ordinance
  • 2020 – COVID-19 Public Health Emergency
  • UCare
  • Child Advocacy Center
  • Partnership for Children
  • Health Carolinians
  • BCCCP Advisory Board
  • Community College Advisory Committee
  • Substance Abuse Coalition
  • Active member of NCALHD
  • Served on various NCALHD Committees

“. . . is always looking for more ways to better serve the needs of our citizens!”

“. . . is always asking questions of her fellow Directors that make us all think twice.”

“. . . is a calm an compassionate nurse, but don’t be misled; she is also fierce!”

The 2023 Public Health Partners Award was presented to Vecinos, Inc. Vecinos, Inc. is a non-profit healthcare organization specifically focusing on providing culturally-appropriate health and wellness services for the uninsured, low-income, and farmworker communities in western North Carolina.

  • Long-time partner with public health as the COVID-10 pandemic further solidified their partnership.
  • Hosted COVID-19 events for the Latinx community to provide vaccines, education, home tests, and face masks.
  • Created mobile health resource fairs to screen individuals for underlying conditions.
  • In the Spring of 2022 began offering monthly mobile health fairs in HMP neighborhoods to additionally offer food boxes, WIC enrollment, health education, and primary care and mental health screening/referrals.